Egg Report
Egg RePod
Blogcast 00: If everyone else was jumping off a bridge
6
0:00
-23:20

Blogcast 00: If everyone else was jumping off a bridge

Prototype proof of concept.
6
Transcript

No transcript...

Hello. This is an experiment. Do not be alarmed. Merely give me 5 dollars.

The basic idea with all this is, I want to use the podcast functionality of the substack website to squeeze you off your precious 5 dollars. I have thought about it and set up the following rules I will be operating this project under, going forward:

The first attempt here is not entirely living up to my own rules, as I am very tired and not exactly exuding vitality and gumption. However during the recording I accidentally had a little moment of organic being, so I figured, ah what the heck. We’ll just downgrade it from “episode 1” to “a teaser-trailer”, and then we can all enjoy it, as well as the future weekly episodes to come, of me, just kind of, sitting down and talking to myself four an hour, or an hour and a half. Or maybe 45 minutes.

I’ve always felt bad that I wasn’t writing as much on the blog as I would like, weekly content, and particularly because there are at this point quite a few people who pay me to do so. And while they are now getting something entirely different that what they payed for, I hope it is at least better than nothing.

The Blogcast: It’s better than Nothing.

As I discuss in the episode, I do not want to “compete against myself” for my own time, so the entire ethos of this project is that the podcast can never be important, and anything important or useful or that I am proud of, will be made in writing, for free.

The current podcast plan is the same scam as everyone is running: Couple free episodes, but eventually its a paid gig. But my twist is, the podcast will be the worst thing I make. Everything that’s good is free, and only the worst charges a fee. If I ever accidentally break those rules and make a good podcast, or even just say anything interesting, that episode will be made free as soon as anyone alerts me to that fact.

Incidentally I am working on essays and a short story as we speak. It’s been a busy week. Lot of things going on. Or should I say…….. as I speak? Podcast. The Blogcast.

6 Comments
Egg Report
Egg RePod
etymology party tricks/satire for the edutainment of the deaf and blind.
an anonymous support group for handsome men
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Egg Report